Regions in the Philippines

The Philippines, a Southeast Asian country located in the western Pacific Ocean, is divided into 17 administrative regions. These regions primarily serve to coordinate planning and organize national government services across multiple local government units.

Island Groups

The country has three major island groups: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

  • Luzon has 8 regions.
  • Visayas has 3 regions.
  • Mindanao has 6 regions.

List of Regions

Here is a list of the 17 regions in the Philippines:

  1. Region I – Ilocos Region
  2. Region II – Cagayan Valley
  3. Region III – Central Luzon
  4. Region IV‑A – CALABARZON
  5. MIMAROPA Region
  6. Region V – Bicol Region
  7. Region VI – Western Visayas
  8. Region VII – Central Visayas
  9. Region VIII – Eastern Visayas
  10. Region IX – Zamboanga Peninsula
  11. Region X – Northern Mindanao
  12. Region XI – Davao Region
  14. Region XIII – Caraga
  15. NCR – National Capital Region
  16. CAR – Cordillera Administrative Region
  17. BARMM – Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

Each region has a city designated as the center where each of the national government agencies has a regional office.


Regions first came into existence on September 24, 1972, when the provinces of the Philippines were organized into eleven regions under Presidential Decree No. 1 as part of the Integrated Reorganization Plan of President Ferdinand Marcos. Since that time, other regions have been created and some provinces have been transferred from one region to another.

Population per Region

  • Population: The most populous region is CALABARZON with over 16 million people, followed by NCR with over 13 million people. The least populous region is CAR with 2 million people.
  • Province count: The region with the most provinces is the Bicol Region with 6 provinces, followed by Cagayan ValleyWestern VisayasCentral VisayasEastern Visayas, and CAR with 5 provinces each. The region with no provinces is NCR, which consists of 16 cities.
  • City count: The region with the most cities is CALABARZON with 20 cities, followed by NCR with 16 cities. The regions with the least cities are MIMAROPA Region and BARMM with 2 cities each.
RegionPopulation (2020)Province City MunicipalityBarangayIsland group
Ilocos Region (Region I)5,301,139491163,267Luzon
Cagayan Valley (Region II)3,685,74454892,311Luzon
Central Luzon (Region III)12,422,1727141163,102Luzon
CALABARZON (Region IV-A)16,195,0425201224,019Luzon
Bicol Region (Region V)6,082,165671073,471Luzon
Western Visayas (Region VI)7,954,7236161174,051Visayas
Central Visayas (Region VII)8,081,9884161163,003Visayas
Eastern Visayas (Region VIII)4,547,150671364,390Visayas
Zamboanga Peninsula (Region IX)3,875,57635671,904Mindanao
Northern Mindanao (Region X)5,022,76859842,022Mindanao
Davao Region (Region XI)5,243,53656431,162Mindanao
SOCCSKSARGEN (Region XII)4,901,48645451,195Mindanao
National Capital Region (NCR)13,484,46201611,710Luzon
Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR)1,797,66062751,178Luzon
Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM)4,404,288521162,490Mindanao
Caraga (Region XIII)2,804,78856671,311Mindanao
MIMAROPA Region3,228,55852711,460Luzon


The regional divisions in the Philippines play a crucial role in coordinating planning and organizing national government services across multiple local government units. With each region having its own unique characteristics and culture, they collectively contribute to the rich diversity and vibrant culture of the Philippines.