Region 7 Central Visayas

Region 7, also known as Central Visayas, is one of the 17 administrative regions of the Philippines. It is located in the central part of the Visayas island group and consists of four provinces: Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, and Siquijor.

It also includes three highly urbanized cities: Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, and Mandaue City. The regional center and largest city is Cebu City, which is also the oldest city and first capital of the Philippines.

Land Area (2013)158.73 km2 (6128.44 sq mi)
Population as of 01 May 20208,081,988
Regional CenterCebu City
Provinces of Region 7Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, and Siquijor.
Highly urbanized cityCebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, and Mandaue City
Consists of16 cities 116 Municipalities and 3,003 Barangays

Also Read: List of Regions in the Philippines

Region 7 Map

Geography and Climate

Region 7 has a total land area of 1158.73 km2 (6128.44 sq mi), which is 5.29% of the country’s total land area.

It is bordered by the Visayan Sea, Camotes Sea, Canigao Channel, Bohol Sea, Dipolog Strait, Sulu Sea, Western Visayas, and the Tañon Strait.

The region is composed of several islands, the largest of which are Cebu, Bohol, and Negros. The region also has many smaller islands, such as Siquijor, Bantayan, Camotes, Panglao, and Sumilon.

The region has a tropical climate, with two distinct seasons: the dry season from November to April, and the wet season from May to October. The average annual temperature is 27.8 degrees Celsius, and the average annual rainfall is 1,505.4 millimeters. The region is prone to typhoons, especially during the wet season.

Region 7 Provinces

Bohol: The Island of Chocolate Hills and Tarsiers

Bohol is a province that boasts of its unique natural attractions and rich history. It is home to the famous Chocolate Hills, a group of more than 1,200 cone-shaped hills that turn brown during the dry season, resembling chocolate kisses.

Bohol is also the habitat of the Philippine tarsier, one of the smallest and cutest primates in the world. You can visit the Tarsier Conservation Area in Loboc to see these adorable creatures up close.

Cebu: The Queen City of the South

Cebu is the most populous and developed province in Central Visayas and the second largest city in the Philippines after Manila.

It is the center of trade, commerce, education, and tourism in the region. Cebu City, the capital of the province, is known as the Queen City of the South, because of its historical and cultural significance.

Negros Oriental: The City of Gentle People

Negros Oriental is a province that is known for its friendly and hospitable people, hence the nickname “The City of Gentle People”.

It is also a province that is rich in natural and cultural resources.

It is the location of Dumaguete City, the capital of the province and the educational center of Central Visayas. Dumaguete City hosts four universities, including the prestigious Silliman University, the first American university in Asia.

Siquijor: The Island of Fire and Mystique

Siquijor is the smallest and least populated province in Central Visayas, but it is also one of the most intriguing and enchanting.

It is known as the Island of Fire, because of the glow of fireflies that surround the island at night. It is also known as the Island of Mystique, because of its reputation for being a place of magic, sorcery, and healing.

Central Visayas is a region that has so much to offer for travelers who want to discover the wonders of the Philippines. It is a region that showcases the diversity and richness of Filipino culture, history, and nature. It is a region that will surely captivate your senses and inspire your imagination.

History and Culture

Region 7 has a rich and diverse history and culture, dating back to the pre-colonial era. The region was home to several indigenous kingdoms and polities, such as the Rajahnate of Cebu, the Kingdom of Bohol, and the Kedatuan of Madja-as.

The region was also a major trading hub, connecting the Philippines with other Asian countries, such as China, Japan, India, and Malaysia.

The region was the first to encounter the Spanish colonizers, led by Ferdinand Magellan, who arrived in Cebu in 1521. Magellan established a friendship with the local ruler, Rajah Humabon, and converted him and his subjects to Christianity.

However, Magellan also met his death in the Battle of Mactan, where he was defeated by the local chieftain, Lapu-Lapu, who is regarded as the first Filipino hero.

The region continued to be a center of Spanish colonial rule, as well as resistance, for the next three centuries.

Region 7 witnessed several revolts and uprisings against the Spanish authorities, such as the Dagohoy Rebellion in Bohol, the Sumuroy Rebellion in Negros Oriental, and the Cebu Revolt of 1898.

The region also played a significant role in the Philippine Revolution and the Philippine-American War, producing notable leaders and heroes, such as Leon Kilat, Pantaleon Villegas, and Arcadio Maxilom.

It became part of the American colonial government in 1901, and later the Commonwealth of the Philippines in 1935.

The region suffered greatly during the Japanese occupation in World War II, but also contributed to the liberation of the country, with the help of the local guerrilla forces and the American forces.

It became one of the first regions to be created under the Integrated Reorganization Plan of President Ferdinand Marcos in 1972. The region initially included the province of Negros Oriental, but it was later transferred to the newly created Negros Island Region in 2015 and then returned to Region 7 in 2017.

The Central Visayas is known for its vibrant and colorful culture, influenced by its diverse ethnic groups, such as the Cebuanos, Boholanos, Negrenses, and Siquijodnons.

Region 7 is also known for its festivals, such as the Sinulog Festival in Cebu, the Sandugo Festival in Bohol, the Buglasan Festival in Negros Oriental, and the Solili Festival in Siquijor. The region is also famous for its cuisine, such as the lechon, the puso, the humba, the kinilaw, and the torta.

Economy and Development

Region 7 is one of the most developed and progressive regions in the Philippines, with a gross regional domestic product (GRDP) of 1.2 trillion pesos in 2019, which is 6.9% of the country’s gross domestic product (GDP). The region’s economy is driven by various sectors, such as industry, services, agriculture, and tourism.

The region’s industry sector is composed of manufacturing, construction, mining, and electricity, gas, and water supply. The region is a major producer of processed food and beverages, furniture, garments, and electronics. The region is also a hub for shipbuilding, cement, and power generation.


Region 7 Philippines is a region of contrasts and diversity, of challenges and opportunities, of history and culture, of economy and development. It is a region that has a lot to offer and a lot to achieve, a region that is proud of its past and hopeful for its future, a region that is central to the Visayas and to the Philippines.