Region 2: Cagayan Valley Profile

Region 2, also known as the Cagayan Valley, is located in the northeastern section of Luzon, Philippines. It has a land area of 298.37 km² (11520.08 sq mi) and a population of 3,685,744 as of May 1, 2020. The regional center is Tuguegarao.

The region is composed of five provinces:

  1. Batanes
  2. Cagayan
  3. Isabela
  4. Nueva Vizcaya
  5. Quirino

These provinces are further divided into 89 municipalities and 2,311 barangays.

This region offers a diverse geography and rich cultural heritage, making it a fascinating area to explore.

Also Read: List of Regions in the Philippines

Quick Summary:

Land Area298.37 km² (11520.08 sq mi)
Population as of 01 May 20203,685,744
Regional CenterTuguegarao
Provinces of Region 2Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, and Quirino

Region 2 Map


Cagayan Valley Region is situated between two majestic mountain ranges, the Cordilleras and the Sierra Madre, which provide a stunning backdrop for its scenic attractions.

The region is also home to the Cagayan River, the longest and largest river in the country, which originates from the Caraballo Mountains and flows all the way to the coastal town of Aparri1.


The Cagayan Valley region has a long history of tobacco cultivation, which has attracted many settlers and investors to this area. Nowadays, the region has also established a special economic zone and free port to boost and diversify its economy.


The region has a diverse linguistic landscape with various languages spoken by its people. Some of these languages are Ilocano, Ibanag, Ivatan, Itawis, Gaddang, Yogad, Isinay, Ilongot, Tagalog and English1.

Region 2 Provinces

  1. Batanes: Situated at the northernmost tip of the Philippines, Batanes is celebrated for its undulating hills, rugged cliffs, and the deep azure embrace of the sea. Its isolation has safeguarded the traditional Ivatan culture.
  2. Cagayan: This province is home to the namesake Cagayan River, the largest and longest river in the country. It beckons with a spectrum of attractions, from historical churches to natural marvels.
  3. Isabela: Aptly known as the “Rice Granary of the North,” Isabela boasts the largest land area among the provinces and offers a fusion of cultural heritage sites and natural wonders.
  4. Nueva Vizcaya: Nestled in the heart of the region, Nueva Vizcaya is often hailed as the “Watershed Haven of Cagayan Valley” due to its abundant natural springs and waterfalls.
  5. Quirino: Paying tribute to the sixth President of the Philippines, Elpidio Quirino, this province is famed for its labyrinthine caves, meandering rivers, and captivating landscapes.

Region 2 Cities

  1. Tuguegarao City: Serving as the regional hub, Tuguegarao City stands as one of the fastest-growing urban centers in the Philippines.
  2. Cauayan City: Carrying the moniker of the “Ideal City of the North,” Cauayan offers a harmonious blend of urban and rural living.
  3. Ilagan City: As the most populous city in Region 2, Ilagan showcases a plethora of tourist attractions, including a wildlife sanctuary and a colossal butaka (rocking chair).
  4. Santiago City: An independent city renowned for its bustling economy, Santiago City is hailed as the “Commercial Center of Cagayan Valley”³.