Region 3 Central Luzon Profile

Central Luzon, officially designated as Region III, is an administrative region in the Philippines occupying the central section of Luzon. It is often referred to as the “Rice Granary of the Philippines” due to its extensive rice fields and production.

Quick Summary:

Land Area219.06 km2 (8458.03 sq mi)
Population (as of 01 May 2020)12,422,172
Regional CenterCity of San Fernando
Provinces (7)Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, and Zambales
Highly Urbanized Cities (2)Angeles and Olongapo City

Also Read: List of Regions in the Philippines


Central Luzon covers 7 provinces, namely, Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, and Zambales, as well as 2 highly urbanized cities. The regional center is the City of San Fernando. The region is bordered, clockwise from the North, by the Ilocos Region, Cagayan Valley, Philippine Sea, CALABARZON, National Capital Region, Manila Bay, and the South China Sea.

Region 3 Map

Region 3 Provinces in the Philippines

Region 3, also known as Central Luzon, is one of the regions in the Philippines. It is strategically located in the heart of Luzon and is composed of seven provinces: Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, and Zambales. Each province has its own unique features and attractions.


Aurora is a province located in the eastern part of Central Luzon region, facing the Philippine Sea1. Its capital is Baler. The province is fast becoming known for its natural wonders, beautiful beaches, and surf-worthy waves.


Bataan is a province on the Philippine island of Luzon Region III. Its capital is Balanga. The province is known for its historical sites and landmarks due to its significance during the Spanish, American, and Japanese colonization periods.


Bulacan is a province in the Philippines located in the Central Luzon region. Its capital is the city of Malolos. Bulacan was established on August 15, 1578, and is part of the Metro Luzon Urban Beltway Super Region.

Nueva Ecija

Nueva Ecija is a landlocked province in the Philippines located in the Central Luzon region. Its capital is the city of Palayan. The province is nationally known as the Rice Granary of the Philippines, producing the largest rice yield in the country.


Pampanga is a province in the Philippines located in the Central Luzon region. Its capital is the city of San Fernando. The province is noted for its sophisticated culinary industry.


Tarlac is a landlocked province located in the Central Luzon Region of the Philippines. Its capital is Tarlac City. The province is the most multicultural of the Central Luzon provinces.


Zambales is a province in the Philippines located in the Central Luzon region. Its capital is Iba. The province is noted for its mangoes, which are abundant from January to April.

Each of these provinces contributes to the rich culture, history, and economy of the Central Luzon region. Whether it’s the beautiful beaches of Aurora and Zambales, the historical landmarks of Bataan, the culinary delights of Pampanga, or the abundant rice fields of Nueva Ecija, there’s something for everyone in Region 3.


As of the 2020 Census, Central Luzon had a population of 12,422,172. This represented 19.97% of the overall population of the Luzon island group or 11.39% of the entire population of the Philippines. Based on these figures, the population density is computed at 567 inhabitants per square kilometer or 1,469 inhabitants per square mile.


Central Luzon is a major economic hub in the Philippines. It contributes significantly to the country’s rice supply, earning itself the nickname “Rice Granary of the Philippines”. The region also has a diverse economy with industries ranging from agriculture, aquaculture, mining, and manufacturing to services and tourism.

Culture and Heritage

The region is rich in cultural heritage with numerous historical sites, festivals, and culinary delights. Each province in the region has its own unique cultural identity and traditions that contribute to the vibrant cultural tapestry of the Philippines.

In conclusion, Central Luzon, with its strategic location, rich cultural heritage, and vibrant economy, plays a crucial role in the overall development of the Philippines. It truly is the heart of the country.