PNP Ranks and Insignia

The Philippine National Police (PNP) is the primary law enforcement agency in the Philippines. It is responsible for maintaining peace and order, preventing and solving crimes, and ensuring public safety. 

Understanding the PNP rank structure is crucial in comprehending the organization’s hierarchy and the roles and responsibilities of its officers. The PNP rank structure is composed of various ranks, each with its own set of duties and responsibilities.

Philippine National Police Ranks and Insignia

The PNP has recently introduced new rank classifications and abbreviations. As per the new law, the PNP rank classification will be unique as the ranks will now be preceded by the term “Police”. 

The PNP rank structure is composed of various ranks, from the lowest to the highest. The lowest rank is Police Officer 1 (PO1) now called Patrolman/Patrolwoman and the highest rank is the Police Director General (PDG) now called Police General, PGEN.

Each rank has its own set of duties and responsibilities, with higher ranks having more significant roles in the organization. Here are the new rank classifications and abbreviations in the PNP.

PNP Rank (Old)New Rank
Police Non-Commissioned Officer
Police Officer I(PO1)Patrolman/Patrolwoman, Pat
Police Officer II (PO2)Police Corporal, PCpl
Police Officer III(PO3)Police Staff Sergeant, PSSg
Senior Police Officer I (SPO1)Police Master Sergeant, PMSg
Senior Police Officer II (SPO2)Police Senior Master Sergeant, PSMS
Senior Police Officer III (SPO3)Police Chief Master Sergeant, PCMS
Senior Police Officer IV (SPO4)Police Executive Master Sergeant, PEMS
Police Commissioned Officer
Police Inspector (PINSP)Police Lieutenant, PLT
Police Senior Inspector (PSINSP)Police Captain, PCPT
Police Chief Inspector (PCINSP)Police Major, PMAJ
Police Superintendent (PSUPT)Police Lieutenant Colonel, PLTCOL
Police Senior Superintendent (PSSUPT)Police Colonel, PCOL
Police Chief Superintendent (PCSUPT)Police Brigadier General, PBGEN
Police Director (PDIR)Police Major General, PMGEN
Police Deputy General (PDDG)Police Lieutenant General, PLTGEN
Police Director General (PDG)Police General, PGEN

The PNP ranks are denoted by insignia worn on the uniform. Here are the PNP Insignia:


Promotions and advancements in the PNP are based on merit and seniority. To be promoted to a higher rank, an officer must meet certain criteria, such as passing the required training and education, demonstrating exemplary performance, and meeting the minimum service requirement for the rank. Advancements in the  PNP also come with benefits and privileges, such as higher salaries, better benefits, and more significant responsibilities.


In conclusion, understanding the PNP rank structure and insignia is essential in comprehending the hierarchy of the PNP and the roles and responsibilities of its officers. The PNP is committed to ensuring the safety and security of the Filipino people, and understanding the PNP rank structure is essential in achieving this goal.  The PNP ranks and insignia serve as symbols of the organization’s professionalism, dedication, and commitment to public service.